Fr O’Neills “Tom Steele Tournament” 2018

We must say a big well done to the Fr O’Neill’s GAA Juvenile club who held the Tom Steele Memorial tournament in Aghavine, Ballymacoda Co. Cork, on Sat 9th June. Tom, who sadly passed away in 2017 was a long serving member of the Fr O’Neill’s club and was very much involved with the juvenile club as secretary, mentor and committee member and it was great to see the club providing this tournament in memory of Tom and all his hard work in the club and presenting an opportunity for local clubs to take part in a tournament in his name.

On the day we had four U14 hurling teams from St Catherines, Aghada, Youghal and of course Fr O’Neills. Each team  played several games during the day with everything running in fantastic order.



2.30pm Fr O Neill’s V St Catherines on pitch 1
2.30pm Youghal V Aghada on pitch 2

3.15pm Fr O Neill’s V Youghal on pitch 1
3.15pm St Catherines V Aghada on pitch 2

4.45pm Plate Final Fr O Neill’s V Aghada on pitch 2
4.45pm Cup Final  Youghal V St Catherines on pitch 1




With both pitches in fantastic order and the sun beaming down the scene was set for a great day of hurling and those who traveled on the day were not left disappointed.  The referees on the day were Mary Swayne, Paudie Kearney and Billy Dunne and a big thank you must go to them. Each pitch had linesmen and umpires and before the final of the plate and the Cup the national anthem was played to the large crowd in attendance on the day.

It was great to see that everything was in order from refreshments in the clubhouse to parking facilities Fr O’Neill’s did a fantastic job in ensuring the teams players and supporters were well looked after. It was great to see members of the Steele family present on the day presenting the Cup, Plate and medals to all the teams who took part. Youghal were the winners of the Cup and Fr O’Neills were the winners of the Plate but hurling and the memory of Tom Steele were the real winners on the day. Well done to all involved

Photos taken on the day by Denis Flynn, Conor Wall and Shane Supple