East Cork win at Munster U15 Hurling Development Squad Finals

On Monday the 7th May, the four qualifying teams from the Munster Under 15 regional Squad Competitions, Semi Finals held during the week in different venues around Munster, travelled to Mallow to play in the Cup and Plate Finals.

With 15 teams from Cork, Waterford, Limerick, Clare, Kerry and Tipperary all playing off in regional blitzes on Sat 5th May we had the top teams coming out of each group giving us four regional winners to play for the Cup and Plate on the Final day. Munster website


The Four teams to qualify were

East Cork from Group 2 played in Fraher Field, Dungarvan, Co Waterford
North Tipperary from Group 1 played in Dr Morris Pk, Thurles, Co Tipperary
South Tipperary Group 3 played in Mallow, Co Cork
Mid Tipperary Group 4 played in Clarecastle, Co Clare.

Semi Finals
East Cork 1-19 v 0-13 North Tipperary (ref: John O’Hallorhan -Limerick)
South Tipperary 1-13 v 0-15 Mid Tipperary  (ref:  John O’Leary – Cork)

Final of the Cup
East Cork 3-14 v 4-04 South Tipperary (ref: John O’Hallorhan -Limerick)

Final of the Plate
North Tipperary 1-9 v 0-6Mid Tipperary (ref:  John O’Leary – Cork)

Liam Lenihan Vice-Chairman Munster GAA was on hand to present Under 15 Munster Hurling Cup to Alex Quirke, Midleton, East Cork captain and the Plate to the winning team from North Tipperary.

He spoke about the importance of such a competition for all Development squads and that the standard of hurling on display over the two days was very high indeed. It was great to see so many young hurlers on the fields reprsenting their regional squads and counties against other squads from the Munster Counties.

A big thank you must go to Joe Carton for organising a great competition and on the day to the GDA’s from around Munster, the referees, staff, and counties for providing facilities to play these games on. We must also thank the players and parents who all travelled in numbers to each venue.

A big well done to the following players who played their part in winning out the Munster Under 15 Inter Regional Squad Competition.

East Cork

Alex Quirke, Midleton
Andrew Chandler, Watergrasshill
Ben Nodwell, Sarsfields
Brion Saunderson, Midleton
Ciaran Sice , Kiltha Og
Ciarmhac Smyth , Midleton
Culann Geary, Youghal
Daire Murray, Sarsfields
Darragh Joyce , Kiltha Og
David Joseph, Carrigtwohill
Edmund Cashman, Bride Rovers
Enda Cronin, Youghal
Evan Kelly, Midleton
Evan Lane, Killeagh
Flynn O Brien, Sarsfields
George Walsh, Killeagh
Izaak Walsh, Lisgoold
Jamie Fogarty, Killeagh
Juston Oke, Carrigtwohill
Niall Geaney, Kiltha Og
Oisin Hill, Youghal
Sean O’Riordan, Youghal
Sean O’Riodan, Fr O’Neills

Noel O’Brien, St Catherines
Ger Geary, Killeagh

Sean Crowley GDA
Shane Supple GDA

Semi Final – East Cork 1-19 v 0-13 North Tipperary

ref: John O’Hallorhan -Limerick


Final of the Cup – East Cork 3-14 v 4-04 South Tipperary

ref: John O’Hallorhan -Limerick