Cork V Kerry U17 Munster Finals May 2017

U17 Munster Final Kerry 0-15  Cork 0-10
Jason O’Connor reports from Austin Stack Park

Kerry defeated Cork in a fiery and eventful Munster U-17 final this evening that was marred by skirmishes between both sets of players at half-time and full-time.

Cork made the better start, scoring the first three points inside the opening five minutes as Mark Keane and Niall O’Sullivan operated well at midfield for the visitors.

They missed a great chance three minutes later however, when Conor McMahon’s goal-bound effort came back off the crossbar. The hosts rallied to score six consecutive points with Michael Slattery influential in giving Kerry an 0-8 to 0-6 lead at half-time.

They held the lead throughout the second-half despite strong pressure from Cork. Substitute Daire Cleary impressed while Fergal Barry and Eddie Horan commanded the Kerry defence.
Cork lost team captain Blake Murphy to a black card with five minutes remaining while Eoin Murray was also dismissed for a second yellow card.

Cork will be disappointed to have lost despite having a good share of possession and chances throughout. Kerry now advance to the All-Ireland semi-finals of this competition in August where they will face the Connacht champions.
Cork U17 Football


Cian Lankford (Kilavullen)
John Corcoran (Nemo Rangers)
Daniel O’Mahony (Knocknagree)
Eoin Murray (Dohenys)
David Lardner (Fermoy)
Greg Lardner (Fermoy)
James O’Mullane (Kilmurry)
Mark Keane (Mitchelstown)
Neil O’Sullivan (Ardigole)
Fionn Herlihy (Dohenys)
Blake Murphy (Na Piarsaigh, Captain)
Jack Murphy (Eire Óg)
Mark Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
Conor Russell (Douglas)
Conor McMahon (Kilshannig)

Subs: 18. Killian Murphy (Glanmire) for Greg Larner (H/T)
21. Ronan Dalton (Douglas) for McMahon (42)
20. Conor Crowley for Russell (52)
19. Liam Twohig (Aghinagh) for Blake Murphy (Black Card, 55)
23. Sean Desmond (Clondrohid) for Jack Murphy (57)

Cork Scorers: Blake Murphy (0-5, 1f), Mark Cronin (0-3, 1f), Mark Keane and Conor Russell (0-1 each)

Manager: James McCarthy (Castlehaven) – Selectors: Brian Lotty (Glanmire),
Ben Flahive (Douglas), Michael Beston (Mitchelstown)


Deividas Uosis (Dingle)
Gearóid Lyne (Annascaul)
Dylan Casey (Austin Stacks)
Fergal Barry (Na Gaeil)
Dara Casey (Glenbeigh/Glencar)
Eddie Horan (Scartaglin)
Thomas Devane (Dingle)
Sean O’Connell (Cordal, Captain)
Franz Sauerland (An Gaeltacht)
Dara Casey (Glenbeigh/Glencar)
Seán Doherty (Glenflesk)
Michael Kelleher (John Mitchels)
Barry Keane (Listry)
Michael Slattery (Austin Stacks)
Seán Keane (Listowel Emmets)

Subs: 18. Daire Cleary (Laune Rangers) for Casey (H/T)
19. Micheál Devlin (Killarney Legion) for Barry Keane (50)
17. Donagh McMahon (Austin Stacks) for Doherty (55)
22. Darren Looney (Killarney Legion) for Sean Keane (60 +2)

Kerry Scorers: Michael Slattery, Sean Keane and Michael Kelliher (1f) (0-3 each), Daire Cleary (0-2), Sean Doherty, Dara Casey, Franz Sauerland and Barry Keane (0-1 each)

Referee: Donnacha O’Callaghan (Limerick)

Photos by kind permission of Denis O’Flynn