Cork GAA and Rebel Og Coaching and Games are delighted to announce the 2019 Cork County “Poc Fada” will take place at Garryvoe Beach on Tuesday June 11th at 6.30pm.

We will have two sections U16 and Senior and if you wish to enter please fill in the form

Click here to access form for 2019 Registration


2018 Poc Fada

The 2018 Cork Poc Fada run by Cork GAA and Rebel Og Coaching and Games took place at Garryvoe Beach on Thursday June 7th.  With weather conditions very good, a nice and sunny evening with little breeze along the course on Garryvoe Beach, Paudie O Brien the coordinator on the day explained the rules to everyone and once everyone had signed in at 6.30pm the senior players started out first and were followed by the U16 players. We had players from Kiltha Og, Fr O’Neills, Killavullen, Kilshannig, Youghal, Banteer and Midleton.

Winners of the Senior Section

1st – Jack McGann from the Kiltha Og GAA Club

2nd – Padraig Cronin from the Killavullen GAA Club

3rd – David Kearney from the Kilshannig GAA Club

Winners of the U16 Section

1st – Callum O’Shaughnessy from the Banteer GAA Club

2nd – Jack Corcoran from the Youghal GAA Club

3rd – Brion Saunderson from the Midleton GAA Club

4th – James Millerick from the Fr O’Neills GAA Club.

Well done to all who took part and the winners now go on to represent Cork in the Munster section of the Poc Fada Munster Competition on 16th June and Provincial Winners will advance to the All Ireland Final on Saturday August 4th.

Photos from 2018

Photos from 2017


The tournament was founded in 1960 by Fr. Pól Mac Sheáin and the Naomh Moninne club based in Fatima, Dundalk, Louth, with the first All Ireland event taking place in 1961 Limerick man Vincent Godfrey the first winner, out of 16 hurlers invited. The competition went off the calendar after 1969 before returning in 1981 with 12 competitors.

The concept of the competition originates in the Irish legend of “Táin Bó Cuailgne” when Cúchulainn, who as the boy Setanta set out from his home at Dún Dealgan to the King’s court at Emain Macha hitting his sliotar before him and running ahead to catch it.

In 2001 the Poc Fada was held at Dundalk Stadium (Dundalk Racecourse) due to foot-and-mouth disease on the Cooley Peninsula, doing two laps of the circuit (2 miles 880 yards / 4,023 metres). The 2005 tournament was won by Albert Shanahan of Limerick, with international soccer player Niall Quinn (who played for Dublin in the All-Ireland minor final of 1983) also competing.

Almost all of the winners have been from the traditional hurling counties, but Dinny Donnelly (Meath), Gerry Goodwin (Tyrone), Colin Byrne (Wicklow), Paul Dunne (Louth), Mary Henry (Westmeath), 2009 champion Gerry Fallon (Roscommon) and the 2010 champion Graham Clarke (Down) have been the exceptions. The record currently stands at 48 pucks (an average of 104 metres per puck), achieved by Brendan Cummins (Tipperary) in 2004. The current record for the Camogie course is held by Patricia Jackman of Waterford when in 2013 she completed the course in 27 pocs and 7 metres (over the end line). Traditionally the most successful competitors have generally been goalkeepers, owing to the need for goalkeepers to puck the ball far up the field in a game of hurling but increasingly there are more “outfield” Hurlers and Camogs out qualifying their goalkeeping contemporaries at county and provincial final level.

www.rebelogcoaching.com puc fada /long puck